12th Annual Artists of Color Exhibition

Description

Save
To save to your favorites you must login first.

The Niagara Arts & Cultural Center is pleased to announce our upcoming exhibition with the 12th Annual Artists of Color Exhibition. This exhibit is curated by Ray Robertson, Co-Director of Galleries, and for 2023 the NACC is proud to be partnering with the Black Pioneers of Niagara Falls to highlight the legacy and contributions of Black individuals to the Niagara Frontier.  Join us for the Opening Reception of this exhibit on Friday, February 10, 2023 from 6:00-8:00 PM

 

This exhibit is envisioned as a representation of the African American experience from a contemporary and personal perspective, and celebrates the work by African American artists in Western New York within the visual arts. In partnering with the Black Pioneers of Niagara Falls this exhibition aims to pair historical photographs of Black individuals from the 1920’s alongside artwork from the 2020’s. Through this interaction the curator hopes to illuminate the creative and social contributions of Black individuals within the context of the Niagara Frontier. 

 

The 12th Annual Artists of Color Exhibition is made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Kathy Hochul and the New York State Legislature. 

 

Visitors to this exhibit will also receive free admission to the Niagara Arts and Cultural Center’s  ”Freedom Crossing” Underground Railroad exhibit. 

 

Gallery Hours for the Townsend Gallery, Kudela Garden Gallery, and permanent exhibits within the building are from 12:00pm-5:00pm daily, excluding holidays. Guided Tours are available by calling 716-282-7530 and must be booked no less than two weeks in advance.

About the Niagara Arts & Cultural Center

As the largest multi-arts center in upstate New York, the Niagara Arts & Cultural Center (NACC) hosts a diverse group of 98 artists and makers, two public art galleries, three theaters, three local history exhibits, a radio station, a certified sound stage & movie production facility, the Niagara Falls High School alumni center, as well as the Starry Night Café & Gift Shop. 

The NACC is located at 1201 Pine Avenue in the City of Niagara Falls, New York

About the Black Pioneers of Niagara Falls

The Black Pioneers of Niagara Falls (BPNF) is an organization dedicated to sustaining and promoting the legacy of the first African American families of the Niagara Frontier. Those included in this organization have excelled as entrepreneurs, social historians, artists, and many other disciplines, highlighting the diversity of this community within Niagara Falls. Today the BPNF celebrates the legacy of families dating as far as the 1800’s, while making visible the contributions of these individuals to the public today. 

BPNF is proud to partner with the NACC for the 12th Annual Artists of Color Exhibition as a means of continuing the conversation around the living legacy of Niagara Falls’s African American communities.

Details

Fri, Feb 10 • Times Vary

Online Event

Online

Events Dates

Fri, Feb 10 10:00 am - 5:00 am

Sat, February 11 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Mon, February 13 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Tue, February 14 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Wed, February 15 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Thu, February 16 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

and more...

Fri, February 17 • 10:00 am - 5:00 am

Sat, February 18 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Mon, February 20 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Tue, February 21 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Wed, February 22 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Thu, February 23 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Fri, February 24 • 10:00 am - 5:00 am

Sat, February 25 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Mon, February 27 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Tue, February 28 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Wed, March 1 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Thu, March 2 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Fri, March 3 • 10:00 am - 5:00 am

Sat, March 4 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Mon, March 6 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Tue, March 7 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Wed, March 8 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Thu, March 9 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Fri, March 10 • 10:00 am - 5:00 am

Sat, March 11 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Mon, March 13 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Tue, March 14 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Wed, March 15 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Thu, March 16 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Fri, March 17 • 10:00 am - 5:00 am

Sat, March 18 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Mon, March 20 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Tue, March 21 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Wed, March 22 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Thu, March 23 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Fri, March 24 • 10:00 am - 5:00 am

Sat, March 25 • 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Contacts

Description

Save
To save to your favorites you must login first.
The Niagara Arts & Cultural Center is pleased to announce our upcoming exhibition with the 12th Annual Artists of Color Exhibition. This exhibit is curated by Ray Robertson, Co-Director of Galleries, and for 2023 the NACC is proud to be partnering with the Black Pioneers of Niagara Falls to highlight the legacy and contributions of Black individuals to the Niagara Frontier.  Join us for the Opening Reception of this exhibit on Friday, February 10, 2023 from 6:00-8:00 PM   This exhibit is envisioned as a representation of the African American experience from a contemporary and personal perspective, and celebrates the work by African American artists in Western New York within the visual arts. In partnering with the Black Pioneers of Niagara Falls this exhibition aims to pair historical photographs of Black individuals from the 1920’s alongside artwork from the 2020’s. Through this interaction the curator hopes to illuminate the creative and social contributions of Black individuals within the context of the Niagara Frontier.    The 12th Annual Artists of Color Exhibition is made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Kathy Hochul and the New York State Legislature.    Visitors to this exhibit will also receive free admission to the Niagara Arts and Cultural Center’s  ”Freedom Crossing” Underground Railroad exhibit.    Gallery Hours for the Townsend Gallery, Kudela Garden Gallery, and permanent exhibits within the building are from 12:00pm-5:00pm daily, excluding holidays. Guided Tours are available by calling 716-282-7530 and must be booked no less than two weeks in advance. About the Niagara Arts & Cultural Center As the largest multi-arts center in upstate New York, the Niagara Arts & Cultural Center (NACC) hosts a diverse group of 98 artists and makers, two public art galleries, three theaters, three local history exhibits, a radio station, a certified sound stage & movie production facility, the Niagara Falls High School alumni center, as well as the Starry Night Café & Gift Shop.  The NACC is located at 1201 Pine Avenue in the City of Niagara Falls, New York About the Black Pioneers of Niagara Falls The Black Pioneers of Niagara Falls (BPNF) is an organization dedicated to sustaining and promoting the legacy of the first African American families of the Niagara Frontier. Those included in this organization have excelled as entrepreneurs, social historians, artists, and many other disciplines, highlighting the diversity of this community within Niagara Falls. Today the BPNF celebrates the legacy of families dating as far as the 1800’s, while making visible the contributions of these individuals to the public today.  BPNF is proud to partner with the NACC for the 12th Annual Artists of Color Exhibition as a means of continuing the conversation around the living legacy of Niagara Falls’s African American communities.

12th Annual Artists of Color Exhibition

map

12th Annual Artists of Color Exhibition

Claim this listing

Report as closed

Submit New Event

Registration

Forgotten Password?

X
You must be logged in to use this feature.