A FORGOTTEN LENS: PHILIP C. ELLIOTT REDISCOVERED

Mon, April 12 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Recurring Event Dates

Tue, April 13 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Wed, April 14 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Thu, April 15 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Fri, April 16 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sat, April 17 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sun, April 18 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Mon, April 19 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Tue, April 20 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Wed, April 21 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Thu, April 22 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Fri, April 23 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sat, April 24 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sun, April 25 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Mon, April 26 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Tue, April 27 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Wed, April 28 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Thu, April 29 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Fri, April 30 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sat, May 1 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sun, May 2 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Mon, May 3 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Tue, May 4 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Wed, May 5 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Thu, May 6 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Fri, May 7 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sat, May 8 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sun, May 9 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Mon, May 10 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Tue, May 11 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Wed, May 12 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Thu, May 13 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Fri, May 14 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sat, May 15 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sun, May 16 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Mon, May 17 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Tue, May 18 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Wed, May 19 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Thu, May 20 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Fri, May 21 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sat, May 22 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sun, May 23 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Mon, May 24 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Tue, May 25 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Wed, May 26 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Thu, May 27 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Fri, May 28 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sat, May 29 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sun, May 30 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Mon, May 31 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Tue, June 1 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Wed, June 2 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Thu, June 3 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Fri, June 4 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sat, June 5 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sun, June 6 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Mon, June 7 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Tue, June 8 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Wed, June 9 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Thu, June 10 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Fri, June 11 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sat, June 12 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sun, June 13 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Mon, June 14 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Tue, June 15 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Wed, June 16 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Thu, June 17 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Fri, June 18 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sat, June 19 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sun, June 20 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Mon, June 21 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Tue, June 22 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Wed, June 23 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Thu, June 24 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Fri, June 25 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sat, June 26 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sun, June 27 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Mon, June 28 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Tue, June 29 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Wed, June 30 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Thu, July 1 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Fri, July 2 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sat, July 3 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sun, July 4 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Mon, July 5 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Tue, July 6 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Wed, July 7 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Thu, July 8 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Fri, July 9 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sat, July 10 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sun, July 11 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Mon, July 12 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Tue, July 13 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Wed, July 14 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Thu, July 15 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Fri, July 16 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sat, July 17 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sun, July 18 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Mon, July 19 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Tue, July 20 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Wed, July 21 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Thu, July 22 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Fri, July 23 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sat, July 24 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sun, July 25 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Mon, July 26 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Tue, July 27 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Wed, July 28 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Thu, July 29 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Fri, July 30 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sat, July 31 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sun, August 1 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Mon, August 2 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Tue, August 3 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Wed, August 4 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Thu, August 5 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Fri, August 6 • 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Prices Starting at: 0
Burchfield Penney Art Center • 1300 Elmwood Ave, Buffalo NY 14222

In the mid-twentieth century, Philip Clarkson Elliott and his wife, Virginia Cuthbert, were celebrated artists in Buffalo, New York. Cuthbert was well-known as a painter and Elliott received acclaim for his photography and painting. As active members of the arts community, the impact of Elliott and Cuthbert on the artistic culture of the region resonated for decades. Their work continues to be celebrated in Buffalo and beyond.

In February of 2020, a collection of hundreds of photographic negatives by Elliot was rediscovered at the Burchfield Penney Art Center Archives. Donated by Cuthbert in 1985, these rare negatives show decades of Elliott and Cuthbert’s day-to-day life together in a detail never witnessed by others. In these intimate and thoughtful images, we can experience fragments of the life of two beloved artists in the twentieth century as never before.

…And soon, never again. Many of the original negatives are nitrate and cellulose acetate—materials that are fragile and inherently unstable. Because of this, the Archivist at the Burchfield Penney Art Center has spent the past year digitizing the images using high resolution negative scanners. The work on this project is still in progress, prioritizing the digitization of the negatives which are most rapidly degrading.

This exhibition features selections from the first of twelve folders of Elliott’s negatives. The photographic negatives span Elliott and Cuthbert’s entire lives together in a non-linear sequence, where their young married life is interspersed with decades of their married life. The images included here have been grouped to allow for a more chronologically linear presentation.

All images included in this exhibition were taken by Philip Elliott, or occasionally, Virginia Cuthbert.
Some images show extensive decomposing, both of the chemical composition as well as the physical medium. These decomposing images have been included because the aesthetics of the images shine through despite the degradation. Regardless of the condition, all of these images remind us that even what remains can only offer hints of what has been lost.

A FORGOTTEN LENS: PHILIP C. ELLIOTT REDISCOVERED

something like address

A FORGOTTEN LENS: PHILIP C. ELLIOTT REDISCOVERED

Find More:  

EAT NEARBY

  • daniela.

    387, Forest Avenue, Elmwood Village
    Buffalo New York 14213 • $$

    Italian

    Buffalo

  • Rohall’s Corner

    540, Amherst Street, Elmwood Village
    Buffalo New York 14207 • $$

    American

    North Buffalo

  • The Terrace

    199 Lincoln Pkwy
    Buffalo New York 14222 • $$

    New American

    Buffalo

  • The Dapper Goose

    491 Amherst St
    Buffalo New York 14207 • $$$

    American

    North Buffalo

    Casual / Full Table Service

  • Pierce Arrow Village Pub

    1680 Elmwood Ave
    Buffalo New York 14207 • $$

    American

    North Buffalo

    Casual / Full Table Service

  • Nye Park Tavern

    1672 Elmwood Ave
    Buffalo New York 14207 • $$

    American

    North Buffalo

    Casual / Full Table Service

  • Mr. Goodbar

    1110 Elmwood Ave
    Buffalo New York 14222 • $

    Pub Food

    Buffalo

    Bar, Bar

  • Joe’s NY Style Pizzeria & Restaurant

    345 Amherst Street
    Buffalo New York 14202 • $$

    Deli-Sandwiches

    North Buffalo

    Casual / Full Table Service, Fast Casual

  • Hong Kong Kitchen

    1120 Elmwood Ave
    Buffalo New York 14202 • $

    Asian

    Buffalo

    Casual / Full Table Service

  • The Kitchen Table

    690 Hertel Ave
    Buffalo New York 14207 • $

    American

    Buffalo

    Casual / Full Table Service

  • Vasilis Express

    1066 Elmwood Ave.
    Buffalo New York 14222 • $

    Deli-Sandwiches

    Buffalo

    Casual / Full Table Service

  • Mister Pizza

    1065 Elmwood Ave
    Buffalo New York 14202 • $$

    Buffalo Food

    Buffalo

    Casual / Full Table Service

  • India Gate

    1116 Elmwood Ave
    Buffalo New York 14202 • $$

    Indian

    Buffalo

    Casual / Full Table Service

  • Cole’s Restaurant & Bar

    1104 Elmwood Ave
    Buffalo New York 14222 • $$

    American

    Buffalo

    Casual / Full Table Service

FEATURED RESTAURANTS

SIMILAR EVENTS

RECENT POSTS

 AN EMAIL A DAY KEEPS THE FOMO AWAY 

Registration

Forgotten Password?