Advertisement

Artifacts

Thu, July 29 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Additional Event Dates

Fri, July 30 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, July 31 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, August 1 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, August 4 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, August 5 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, August 6 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, August 7 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, August 8 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, August 11 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, August 12 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, August 13 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, August 14 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, August 15 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, August 18 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, August 19 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, August 20 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, August 21 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, August 22 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, August 25 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, August 26 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, August 27 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, August 28 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, August 29 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, September 1 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, September 2 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, September 3 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, September 4 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, September 5 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, September 8 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, September 9 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, September 10 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, September 11 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, September 12 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, September 15 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, September 16 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, September 17 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, September 18 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, September 19 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, September 22 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, September 23 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, September 24 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, September 25 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, September 26 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, September 29 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, September 30 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, October 1 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, October 2 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, October 3 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, October 6 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, October 7 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, October 8 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, October 9 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, October 10 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, October 13 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, October 14 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, October 15 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, October 16 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, October 17 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, October 20 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, October 21 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, October 22 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, October 23 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, October 24 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, October 27 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, October 28 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, October 29 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, October 30 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, October 31 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, November 3 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, November 4 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, November 5 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, November 6 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, November 7 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, November 10 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, November 11 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, November 12 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, November 13 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, November 14 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, November 17 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, November 18 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, November 19 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, November 20 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, November 21 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, November 24 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, November 25 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, November 26 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, November 27 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, November 28 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, December 1 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, December 2 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, December 3 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, December 4 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, December 5 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, December 8 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, December 9 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, December 10 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, December 11 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, December 12 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, December 15 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, December 16 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, December 17 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, December 18 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, December 19 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, December 22 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, December 23 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, December 24 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, December 25 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, December 26 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, December 29 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, December 30 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, December 31 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, January 1 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, January 2 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, January 5 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, January 6 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, January 7 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, January 8 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, January 9 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, January 12 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, January 13 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, January 14 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, January 15 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, January 16 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, January 19 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, January 20 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, January 21 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, January 22 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, January 23 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, January 26 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, January 27 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, January 28 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, January 29 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, January 30 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, February 2 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, February 3 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, February 4 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, February 5 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, February 6 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, February 9 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, February 10 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, February 11 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, February 12 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, February 13 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, February 16 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, February 17 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, February 18 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, February 19 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, February 20 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, February 23 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, February 24 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, February 25 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, February 26 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, February 27 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Prices starting at: 16
Buffalo Museum of Science • 1020 Humboldt Parkway, Buffalo NY 14211

Description

The people of the world are more alike than you may think! Anthropology is the study of humankind, past and present. Crossing geographic and cultural boundaries, anthropologists study who we are and where we came from.

The objects we use and create are just one of the tools anthropologists use to answer these questions, and our newest permanent science studio features a selection of incredible artifacts from the Buffalo Museum of Science’s anthropology collections and explores the similarities across cultures as evidenced by the objects we create.

Examine ancient eating utensils from around the world. Compare pottery of different cultures and learn of their uses. Get a side-by-side look of how different Peoples used the written word via chisel, pictures or stylized scripts to document their lives.

Also explore the answers to these questions: How do diets differ across cultures? Is music a universal language? Why do certain cultures have such different burial practices?

Using modern touch screen technology, you can get an interactive lesson on the beautiful, and sometime bizarre collections on display – where they came from, when and how they were used, and even the materials used to create them.

Artifacts makes it easy and fun for guests to experience these cultural comparisons. Hands-on activities provide multi-generational engagement and learning opportunities for all museum visitors.

Website

See all Buffalo Museum of Science exhibits and events

  • Wed.: 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.
  • Thurs.: 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.
  • Fri.: 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.
  • Sat.: 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.
  • Sun.: 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.

Artifacts

something like address

Artifacts

FIND MORE

EAT NEARBY

  • Kim’s Kitchen Chinese Takeout

    1490 Fillmore Ave Buffalo, New York 14211 • $

    Buffalo

  • Golden Cup Coffee

    1323 Jefferson Ave Buffalo, New York 14208 • $

    Cafe-Coffee

    Buffalo

    Cafe / Coffee Shop

  • Sunshine Vegan Eats

    893 Jefferson Ave Buffalo, New York 14204 • $$

    VeganVegetarianPlant-based

    Buffalo

    Casual / Full Table Service

  • Solo Eats

    261 E Ferry St Buffalo, New York 14208 • $

    American

    Buffalo

    Fast Food

  • Munchie Manz

    626 East Utica Street Buffalo, New York 14211 • $

    American

    Buffalo

    Catering

  • Manna @Northland

    683 Northland Ave Buffalo, New York 14211 • $$

    AmericanSoul Food

    Buffalo

    Casual / Full Table Service

  • Lee’s Barbecue

    1269 Fillmore Ave Buffalo, New York 14211 • $$

    BBQ

    Buffalo

    Casual / Full Table Service

  • Island Mix Restaurant

    883 Jefferson Ave Buffalo, New York 14204 • $

    Jamaican

    Buffalo

    Casual / Full Table Service

  • Babcia’s Pierogi

    999 Broadway Buffalo, New York 14212 • $$

    Polish

    Buffalo

    Fast Casual / Counter Service

  • SPoT Coffee – Roswell Park

    Elm & Carlton Street, Fruit Belt Buffalo, New York 14226 • $$

    Deli-SandwichesCafe-Coffee

    North Towns

    Fast Casual / Counter Service, Cafe / Coffee Shop

  • Shy’s SteakHouse

    690 Fillmore Ave Buffalo, New York 14212 • $

    AmericanDeli-Sandwiches

    Buffalo

    Casual / Full Table Service

  • The Grove Lounge

    1210 Broadway St Buffalo, New York 14212 • $

    Soul Food

    Buffalo

    Bar, Casual / Full Table Service

  • Happy Swallow Restaurant

    1349 Sycamore Street Buffalo, New York 14202 • $

    AmericanBuffalo FoodPolishSeafood

    Buffalo

    Casual / Full Table Service

  • R & L Lounge

    23 Mills St Buffalo, New York 14202 • $

    Polish

    Buffalo

    Casual / Full Table Service

  • Twisted Pickle

    173 High St Buffalo, New York 14202 • $

    BurgersDeli-Sandwiches

    Buffalo

    Casual / Full Table Service

FEATURED RESTAURANTS

SIMILAR EVENTS

  • Buffalo In Space Exhibit

    Thu, July 29 • All Day +more dates

    $16

    Buffalo Museum of Science
    1020 Humboldt Pkwy Buffalo, NY 14211

    Buffalo

  • Bug Works

    Thu, July 29 • All Day +more dates

    Free

    Buffalo Museum of Science
    1020 Humboldt Parkway Buffalo, NY 14211

    Buffalo

  • Explorations

    Thu, July 29 • All Day +more dates

    Free

    Buffalo Museum of Science
    1020 Humboldt Parkway Buffalo, NY 14211

    Buffalo

  • Explore YOU

    Thu, July 29 • All Day +more dates

    Free

    Buffalo Museum of Science
    1020 Humboldt Parkway Buffalo, NY 14211

    Buffalo

  • In Motion

    Thu, July 29 • All Day +more dates

    Free

    Buffalo Museum of Science
    1020 Humboldt Parkway Buffalo, NY 14211

    Buffalo

  • Our Marvelous Earth

    Thu, July 29 • All Day +more dates

    Free

    Buffalo Museum of Science
    1020 Humboldt Parkway Buffalo, 14211

    Buffalo

  • Rethink Extinct

    Thu, July 29 • All Day +more dates

    Free

    Buffalo Museum of Science
    1020 Humboldt Parkway Buffalo, NY 14211

    Buffalo

  • Seymour & Stanley

    Thu, July 29 • All Day +more dates

    Free

    Buffalo Museum of Science
    1020 Humboldt Parkway Buffalo, 14211

    Buffalo

  • Zygmunt Planetarium

    Thu, July 29 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm +more dates

    $16

    Buffalo Museum of Science
    1020 Humboldt Parkway Buffalo, NY 14211

    Buffalo

RECENT POSTS

 AN EMAIL A DAY KEEPS THE FOMO AWAY 

Registration

Forgotten Password?