Advertisement

Artifacts

Wed, Aug 10 +more dates
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Event Dates & Times

Thu, Aug 11 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, August 12 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, August 13 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, August 14 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, August 17 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, August 18 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, August 19 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, August 20 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, August 21 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, August 24 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, August 25 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, August 26 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, August 27 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, August 28 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, August 31 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, September 1 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, September 2 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, September 3 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, September 4 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, September 7 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, September 8 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, September 9 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, September 10 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, September 11 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, September 14 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, September 15 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, September 16 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, September 17 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, September 18 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, September 21 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, September 22 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, September 23 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, September 24 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, September 25 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, September 28 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, September 29 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, September 30 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, October 1 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, October 2 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, October 5 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, October 6 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, October 7 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, October 8 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, October 9 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, October 12 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, October 13 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, October 14 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, October 15 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, October 16 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, October 19 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, October 20 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, October 21 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, October 22 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, October 23 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, October 26 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, October 27 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, October 28 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, October 29 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, October 30 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, November 2 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, November 3 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, November 4 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, November 5 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, November 6 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, November 9 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, November 10 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, November 11 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, November 12 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, November 13 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, November 16 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, November 17 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, November 18 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, November 19 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, November 20 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, November 23 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, November 24 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, November 25 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, November 26 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, November 27 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, November 30 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, December 1 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, December 2 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, December 3 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, December 4 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, December 7 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, December 8 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, December 9 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, December 10 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, December 11 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, December 14 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, December 15 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, December 16 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, December 17 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, December 18 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, December 21 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, December 22 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, December 23 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, December 24 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, December 25 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, December 28 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, December 29 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, December 30 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, December 31 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, January 1 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, January 4 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, January 5 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, January 6 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, January 7 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, January 8 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, January 11 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, January 12 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, January 13 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, January 14 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, January 15 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, January 18 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, January 19 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, January 20 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, January 21 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, January 22 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, January 25 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, January 26 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, January 27 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, January 28 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, January 29 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, February 1 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, February 2 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, February 3 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, February 4 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, February 5 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, February 8 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, February 9 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, February 10 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, February 11 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, February 12 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, February 15 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, February 16 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, February 17 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, February 18 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, February 19 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, February 22 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, February 23 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, February 24 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, February 25 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, February 26 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, March 1 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Admission starts at: $16
Buffalo Museum of Science • 1020 Humboldt Parkway, Buffalo NY 14211

Description

The people of the world are more alike than you may think! Anthropology is the study of humankind, past and present. Crossing geographic and cultural boundaries, anthropologists study who we are and where we came from.

The objects we use and create are just one of the tools anthropologists use to answer these questions, and our newest permanent science studio features a selection of incredible artifacts from the Buffalo Museum of Science’s anthropology collections and explores the similarities across cultures as evidenced by the objects we create.

Examine ancient eating utensils from around the world. Compare pottery of different cultures and learn of their uses. Get a side-by-side look of how different Peoples used the written word via chisel, pictures or stylized scripts to document their lives.

Also explore the answers to these questions: How do diets differ across cultures? Is music a universal language? Why do certain cultures have such different burial practices?

Using modern touch screen technology, you can get an interactive lesson on the beautiful, and sometime bizarre collections on display – where they came from, when and how they were used, and even the materials used to create them.

Artifacts makes it easy and fun for guests to experience these cultural comparisons. Hands-on activities provide multi-generational engagement and learning opportunities for all museum visitors.

Website

See all Buffalo Museum of Science exhibits and events

  • Wed.: 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.
  • Thurs.: 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.
  • Fri.: 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.
  • Sat.: 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.
  • Sun.: 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Event Organizer:

Artifacts

something like address

Artifacts

FIND MORE

EAT NEARBY

FEATURED RESTAURANTS

Skyriver Butterflies

Wed, Aug 10 - Sun, Aug 21
11:00 am - 10:00 pm

Free

Fairgrounds, Erie County/Hamburg
5600 McKinley Pkwy Hamburg, 14075

South Towns

RECENT POSTS

Coming Events

Sponsored Placement

James Beard Celebrity Chefs Tour Dinner at Bacchus Wine Bar

Thu, Aug 18
6:30 pm - 10:00 pm

Admission starts at: $300

Bacchus Wine Bar and Restaurant
56 W Chippewa St Buffalo, 14202

Buffalo

Bacchus Wine Bar Chef Tour Dinner with James Beard Award Winning Chefs! Cocktails and canapés followed by 5 course dinner with wine pairings prepared ...

Crafting Cocktails and Financial Plans

Wed, Aug 24
6:00 pm - 7:30 pm

Free

The Establishment
5110 Main St. Suite 100 Buffalo, 14221

North Towns

Master the art of cocktail making while you learn to make smart financial choices for your future. From choosing the proper cocktail glasses to key steps ...

Neal Francis

Wed, Aug 17
7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Admission starts at: $20

Buffalo Iron Works
49 Illinois St Buffalo, 14203

Buffalo

On his new album In Plain Sight, Neal Francis offers up a body of work both strangely enchanted and painfully self-aware, unfolding in songs sparked from ...

Torn Space: Ages at Silo City

Fri, Aug 12 +more dates
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Admission starts at: $30

Silo City
85 Silo City Row Buffalo, 14203

Buffalo

Torn Space invites you once again to join them in mid-August for their annual early harvest celebration. The series began in 2013 where they ...

Carson Tonight: Johnny’s Comedy & Variety Acts LIVE!

Sat, Aug 13
5:00 pm - 12:00 am

Admission starts at: $17

Reg Lenna Civic Center
116 E. Third St. Jamestown, 14701

Southern Tier

As the National Comedy Center opens its immersive Johnny Carson Experience, relive the magic and laughter of Johnny Carson’s Tonight Show with the talented ...

The Boys of Summer at The Hawk

Sat, Aug 27
7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Free

Diamond Hawk Golf Course & Pub “The Hawk”
255 Sonwil Dr Cheektowaga, 14225

Cheektowaga and East

80’s Themed Murder Mystery Tour On Buffalo Double Decker Bus Tours

Sat, Aug 13 +more dates
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Admission starts at: $35

Buffalo Double Decker Bus Tours
12 Fuhrmann Boulevard Buffalo, 14203

Buffalo

 AN EMAIL A DAY HELPS KEEPS THE FOMO AWAY 

Registration

Forgotten Password?

X
You must be logged in to use this feature.