Advertisement

B is for Book: Children’s Stories Through the Centuries

Tue, Aug 9 +more dates
12:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Event Dates & Times

Tue, Aug 9 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Wed, August 10 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Thu, August 11 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Fri, August 12 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Mon, August 15 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Tue, August 16 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Wed, August 17 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Thu, August 18 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Fri, August 19 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Mon, August 22 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Tue, August 23 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Wed, August 24 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Thu, August 25 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Fri, August 26 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Mon, August 29 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Tue, August 30 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Wed, August 31 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Thu, September 1 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Fri, September 2 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Mon, September 5 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Tue, September 6 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Wed, September 7 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Thu, September 8 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Fri, September 9 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Mon, September 12 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Tue, September 13 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Wed, September 14 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Thu, September 15 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Fri, September 16 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Mon, September 19 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Tue, September 20 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Wed, September 21 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Thu, September 22 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Fri, September 23 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Mon, September 26 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Tue, September 27 • 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Free
Central Library (Buffalo & Erie County) • 1 Lafayette Square, Buffalo 14203

Description

From fables and fairytales, ABC and lesson books, to picture books, modern readers and beloved stories, children’s literature has evolved over the centuries to provide delight and inspiring life lessons for countless children. Hundreds of wonderful examples have been a part of the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library’s collections since 1896 when the Buffalo Public Library opened one of the first reading rooms designed specifically for children.

The B is for Book exhibition features special collections of early works including alphabet and instructional books, magazines and Mother Goose editions, as well as the fairy tales of the Brothers Grimm and Hans Christian Andersen plus some Dr. Seuss classics! This new exhibit brings to life captivating works of imagination and presents the results of nearly four centuries of children’s book publishing.

Discover new early storybook characters and revisit old favorites with colorful, engaging graphics and a variety of play opportunities.  Copies of books that children can browse will be available in the exhibit for children of all ages to explore and enjoy!

This exhibit is free & open to the public during regular Library hours.

Event Organizer:

B is for Book: Children’s Stories Through the Centuries

something like address

B is for Book: Children’s Stories Through the Centuries

FIND MORE

EAT NEARBY

  • Jaz & Jack’s

    36 Broadway Buffalo, New York 14203 • $$

    BakeryDeli-SandwichesSouthern

    Buffalo

    Fast Casual / Counter Service

  • Public Espresso + Coffee @ Hotel Lafayette

    391 Washington St Buffalo, New York 14203 • $

    Cafe-CoffeeBakery

    Buffalo

    Cafe / Coffee Shop, Fast Casual / Counter Service

  • Lafayette Brewing Company in Hotel @ Lafayette

    391 Washington St Buffalo, NY 14203 • $$

    BreweryAmericanBeer Bar/HallSmall Plates

    Buffalo

    Casual Table Service, Bar

  • Bittersweet Piano Lounge

    391 Washington Street Buffalo, NY 14203 • $

    Buffalo

    Bar

  • Deep South Taco – Ellicott

    291 Ellicott St Buffalo, New York 14203 • $$

    MexicanSouthwestern

    Buffalo

    Casual Table Service

  • Electric Avenue Cafe

    300 Ellicott Ave. Buffalo, New York • $

    Other

    Dive Bar

  • Mohawk Place

    47 East Mohawk Street Buffalo, New York 14203

    South Buffalo

    Music Venue / Night Club

  • Il Mulino

    465 Washington St. Buffalo, NY 14203 • $$

    Italian

    Buffalo

    Bar

  • Man-Aung Sushi

    14 Lafayette Square Buffalo, New York 14203 • $$

    Japanese-Sushi

    Buffalo

    Casual Table Service, Fast Casual / Counter Service

  • The Lunch Box – Lafayette Court

    465 Main St Buffalo, New York 14203 • $

    South Buffalo

  • JJ’s Casa di Pizza

    11 E Mohawk St Buffalo, New York 14203 • $

    Buffalo FoodDeli-SandwichesItalianPizza

    Buffalo

    Casual Table Service

  • Gino & Joe’s Pizza

    400 Main St Buffalo, New York 14202 • $

    AmericanBuffalo Food37963878Italian38233866Pizza

    Buffalo

    Casual Table Service

  • City Fare Cafe of Buffalo

    477 Main St Buffalo, New York 14203 • $$

    AmericanDeli-SandwichesDiner

    South Buffalo

    Casual Table Service

  • E Cafe

    487 Main St Buffalo, NY 14203 • $

    American

    Buffalo

    Cafe / Coffee Shop

  • Big Ditch Brewing Co.

    55 E Huron St Buffalo, New York 14203 • $$

    BreweryAmerican

    Buffalo

    Casual Table Service

  • Tappo

    338 Ellicott St Buffalo, New York 14203 • $$

    ItalianWine Bar

    Buffalo

    Casual Table Service

FEATURED RESTAURANTS

RECENT POSTS

Coming Events

Sponsored Placement

James Beard Celebrity Chefs Tour Dinner at Bacchus Wine Bar

Thu, Aug 18
6:30 pm - 10:00 pm

Admission starts at: $300

Bacchus Wine Bar and Restaurant
56 W Chippewa St Buffalo, 14202

Buffalo

Bacchus Wine Bar Chef Tour Dinner with James Beard Award Winning Chefs! Cocktails and canapés followed by 5 course dinner with wine pairings prepared ...

Torn Space: Ages at Silo City

Fri, Aug 12 +more dates
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Admission starts at: $30

Silo City
85 Silo City Row Buffalo, 14203

Buffalo

Torn Space invites you once again to join them in mid-August for their annual early harvest celebration. The series began in 2013 where they ...

Carson Tonight: Johnny’s Comedy & Variety Acts LIVE!

Sat, Aug 13
5:00 pm - 12:00 am

Admission starts at: $17

Reg Lenna Civic Center
116 E. Third St. Jamestown, 14701

Southern Tier

As the National Comedy Center opens its immersive Johnny Carson Experience, relive the magic and laughter of Johnny Carson’s Tonight Show with the talented ...

Neal Francis

Wed, Aug 17
7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Admission starts at: $20

Buffalo Iron Works
49 Illinois St Buffalo, 14203

Buffalo

On his new album In Plain Sight, Neal Francis offers up a body of work both strangely enchanted and painfully self-aware, unfolding in songs sparked from ...

GObike SkyRide Buffalo 2022

Sun, Aug 14
7:00 am - 2:00 pm

Admission starts at: $40

Outer Harbor Buffalo - Lakeside Complex
225 Fuhrmann Blvd Buffalo,

Other

Join us on Sunday, August 14, 2022 at 8:30am for our 8th annual SkyRide, presented by Independent Health.  REGISTRATION OPENS 7AM REMARKS ...

The Boys of Summer at The Hawk

Sat, Aug 27
7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Free

Diamond Hawk Golf Course & Pub “The Hawk”
255 Sonwil Dr Cheektowaga, 14225

Cheektowaga and East

Cuba Garlic Festival

Sat, Sep 17 - Sun, Sep 18
10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Admission starts at: $8


Cuba, NY 14727

Southern Tier

 AN EMAIL A DAY HELPS KEEPS THE FOMO AWAY 

Registration

Forgotten Password?

X
You must be logged in to use this feature.