Biodiversity

Thu, March 4 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Recurring Event Dates

Fri, March 5 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, March 6 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, March 7 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Mon, March 8 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Tue, March 9 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, March 10 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, March 11 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, March 12 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, March 13 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, March 14 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Mon, March 15 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Tue, March 16 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, March 17 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, March 18 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, March 19 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, March 20 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, March 21 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Mon, March 22 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Tue, March 23 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, March 24 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, March 25 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, March 26 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, March 27 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, March 28 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Mon, March 29 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Tue, March 30 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, March 31 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, April 1 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, April 2 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, April 3 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, April 4 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Mon, April 5 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Tue, April 6 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, April 7 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, April 8 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, April 9 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, April 10 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, April 11 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Mon, April 12 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Tue, April 13 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, April 14 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, April 15 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, April 16 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, April 17 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, April 18 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Mon, April 19 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Tue, April 20 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, April 21 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, April 22 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Fri, April 23 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sat, April 24 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sun, April 25 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Mon, April 26 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Tue, April 27 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wed, April 28 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thu, April 29 • 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Buffalo Museum of Science • 1020 Humboldt Parkway, Buffalo NY 14211

Open Wed – Sun 10am-4pm

Prices: Adults- $10; Seniors 62+ – $9; Children 2-17, students* & military* with ID $8
Museum Members – FREE
Children under 2 – FREE

Biodiversity is life. It is the very foundation upon which all life on Earth depends. The staggering variety of life spans from microscopic genes in DNA to millions of species of organisms, to the highly interconnected ecosystems that cover the planet. Biodiversity has lessons to teach us, and is a source of wonder, enjoyment, and inspiration. Come, explore and discover the value of nature.

Lions, bears, and birds, oh my! Biodiversity highlights the Museum’s rich natural history collection to explore the inhabitants of the rainforest, African savanna, American prairie, the arctic and the coastal waters of the northern Pacific. See the plumes and hear the calls of birds-of-paradise, and get an upclose look at the giant claws of an anteater or the pincers of a scorpion. Learn about Traditional Ecological Knowledge and test your skills through touch-screen technology. Living in the wild is about finding food – and not being food. Discover the unique physical and behavioral adaptations of animals all over the globe, the life and death struggles of survival and the complex food webs that exist. Why is Biodiveristy important? In what areas of our planet is Biodiversity the richest? How is it that everything is connected? What can you do to ensure Biodiversity exists in the future? Find these answers and more.

Biodiversity also features the Museum’s bison diorama, a treasured memory for multitudes of Museum visitors. The bison diorama is the only portion of the original installation of this exhibit hall that remains. While the rest of the Vertebrate Hall was remodeled in 1965 and removed in 2015, the bison exhibit remained unchanged. The bison themselves have a storied past – two cows and a calf came to the Buffalo Society of Natural Sciences from the Buffalo Zoo in the 1890s, and the group even traveled to Atlanta Georgia for inclusion in the 1895 International Exposition. It is by far the Museum’s finest diorama, having been refurbished by the skilled hands of Paul Marchand.

Website

See all Buffalo Museum of Science exhibits and events

16

Biodiversity

something like address

Biodiversity

Find More:  

EAT NEARBY

  • SPoT Coffee – Roswell Park

    Elm & Carlton Street, Fruit Belt
    Buffalo New York 14226 • $$

    Deli-Sandwiches

    Buffalo

    Fast Casual

  • Shy’s SteakHouse

    690 Fillmore Ave
    Buffalo New York 14212 • $

    American

    Buffalo

  • Preservation Pub

    948 Main St
    Buffalo New York 14202 • $$

    American

    Buffalo

    Casual / Full Table Service

  • The Grove Lounge

    1210 Broadway St
    Buffalo New York 14212 • $

    Soul Food

    Buffalo

  • Saturn Club of Buffalo

    977 Delaware Ave
    Buffalo New York 14209

  • Buffalo’s Golden Corner

    1715 Jefferson Ave.
    Buffalo New York 14208 • $$

    Deli-Sandwiches

    Buffalo

    Casual / Full Table Service

  • Happy Swallow Restaurant

    1349 Sycamore Street
    Buffalo New York 14202 • $

    American

    East Buffalo

    Casual / Full Table Service

  • Buffalo Pizza Co

    1769 Main St.
    Buffalo New York 14202 • $

    Buffalo

    Casual / Full Table Service

  • R & L Lounge

    23 Mills St
    Buffalo New York 14202 • $

    Polish

    East Buffalo

  • Twisted Pickle

    173 High St
    Buffalo New York 14202 • $

    Burgers

    Buffalo

    Casual / Full Table Service

  • Mr. Bones

    893 Jefferson Avenue
    Buffalo New York 14202 • $$

    American

    East Buffalo

    Casual / Full Table Service

  • Ulrich’s Tavern

    674 Ellicott St.
    Buffalo New York 14203 • $$

    American

    Buffalo

    Casual / Full Table Service

  • IKE & BG’s Rib House

    1646 Genesee St
    Buffalo New York 14211 • $

    American

    East Buffalo

  • The Oakk Room

    1435 Main St.
    Buffalo New York 14209 • $$

    American

    Buffalo

FEATURED RESTAURANTS

SIMILAR EVENTS

RECENT POSTS

 AN EMAIL A DAY KEEPS THE FOMO AWAY 

Registration

Forgotten Password?