Charles E. Burchfield: In His Own Words

Description

Save
To save to your favorites you must login first.

The exhibition Charles E. Burchfield: In His Own Words was first presented at the Burchfield Penney Art Center in 2012 with an opening on November 9th. Less than a month later a team of curatorial and communications staff initiated the #IHOW campaign on social media. Every day a painting by Burchfield is paired with writing from his journals, which he kept from 1910 until the end of his life. The first post for the project was on Facebook on December 7, 2012 less than six months after the social media giant made its initial public offering. It was shared by 25 people.

Ten years and one month later the Burchfield Penney re-presents an updated version of the exhibition. The exhibition focuses on lesser-known parts of the artist’s textual record and presents them with related works on loan and from the museum’s permanent collection. Throughout his career, Burchfield’s moods, ideas and personal critiques were recorded on thousands of scraps of paper and studies for paintings. Collectively, they form a major part of the Charles E. Burchfield Foundation Archives. This special collection of over 25, 000 objects from the artist’s Gardenville Studio is housed in the museum’s Archives today.

This exhibition is an attempt to let Burchfield speak for himself. His was a complex and layered visual language that points to a complex human being. Like so many artists, Burchfield was one of his most important critics. The inner triumphs, struggles and ambitions of his career are reflected in his artwork and writing. They also contain traces of larger sentiments felt by the country during the first half of the 20th century.

Details

Sat, Jan 28 • All Day

Burchfield Penney Art Center • 1300 Elmwood Ave., Buffalo 14222

Buffalo

Events Dates

Sun, Jan 29 All Day

Mon, January 30 • All Day

Tue, January 31 • All Day

Wed, February 1 • All Day

Thu, February 2 • All Day

Fri, February 3 • All Day

and more...

Sat, February 4 • All Day

Sun, February 5 • All Day

Mon, February 6 • All Day

Tue, February 7 • All Day

Wed, February 8 • All Day

Thu, February 9 • All Day

Fri, February 10 • All Day

Sat, February 11 • All Day

Sun, February 12 • All Day

Mon, February 13 • All Day

Tue, February 14 • All Day

Wed, February 15 • All Day

Thu, February 16 • All Day

Fri, February 17 • All Day

Sat, February 18 • All Day

Sun, February 19 • All Day

Mon, February 20 • All Day

Tue, February 21 • All Day

Wed, February 22 • All Day

Thu, February 23 • All Day

Fri, February 24 • All Day

Sat, February 25 • All Day

Sun, February 26 • All Day

Mon, February 27 • All Day

Tue, February 28 • All Day

Wed, March 1 • All Day

Thu, March 2 • All Day

Fri, March 3 • All Day

Sat, March 4 • All Day

Sun, March 5 • All Day

Mon, March 6 • All Day

Tue, March 7 • All Day

Wed, March 8 • All Day

Thu, March 9 • All Day

Fri, March 10 • All Day

Sat, March 11 • All Day

Sun, March 12 • All Day

Mon, March 13 • All Day

Tue, March 14 • All Day

Wed, March 15 • All Day

Thu, March 16 • All Day

Fri, March 17 • All Day

Sat, March 18 • All Day

Sun, March 19 • All Day

Mon, March 20 • All Day

Tue, March 21 • All Day

Wed, March 22 • All Day

Thu, March 23 • All Day

Fri, March 24 • All Day

Sat, March 25 • All Day

Sun, March 26 • All Day

Mon, March 27 • All Day

Tue, March 28 • All Day

Wed, March 29 • All Day

Thu, March 30 • All Day

Fri, March 31 • All Day

Sat, April 1 • All Day

Sun, April 2 • All Day

Mon, April 3 • All Day

Tue, April 4 • All Day

Wed, April 5 • All Day

Thu, April 6 • All Day

Fri, April 7 • All Day

Sat, April 8 • All Day

Sun, April 9 • All Day

Mon, April 10 • All Day

Tue, April 11 • All Day

Wed, April 12 • All Day

Thu, April 13 • All Day

Fri, April 14 • All Day

Sat, April 15 • All Day

Sun, April 16 • All Day

Mon, April 17 • All Day

Tue, April 18 • All Day

Wed, April 19 • All Day

Thu, April 20 • All Day

Fri, April 21 • All Day

Sat, April 22 • All Day

Sun, April 23 • All Day

Mon, April 24 • All Day

Tue, April 25 • All Day

Wed, April 26 • All Day

Thu, April 27 • All Day

Fri, April 28 • All Day

Sat, April 29 • All Day

Sun, April 30 • All Day

Contacts

Website

Description

Save
To save to your favorites you must login first.
The exhibition Charles E. Burchfield: In His Own Words was first presented at the Burchfield Penney Art Center in 2012 with an opening on November 9th. Less than a month later a team of curatorial and communications staff initiated the #IHOW campaign on social media. Every day a painting by Burchfield is paired with writing from his journals, which he kept from 1910 until the end of his life. The first post for the project was on Facebook on December 7, 2012 less than six months after the social media giant made its initial public offering. It was shared by 25 people. Ten years and one month later the Burchfield Penney re-presents an updated version of the exhibition. The exhibition focuses on lesser-known parts of the artist’s textual record and presents them with related works on loan and from the museum’s permanent collection. Throughout his career, Burchfield’s moods, ideas and personal critiques were recorded on thousands of scraps of paper and studies for paintings. Collectively, they form a major part of the Charles E. Burchfield Foundation Archives. This special collection of over 25, 000 objects from the artist’s Gardenville Studio is housed in the museum’s Archives today. This exhibition is an attempt to let Burchfield speak for himself. His was a complex and layered visual language that points to a complex human being. Like so many artists, Burchfield was one of his most important critics. The inner triumphs, struggles and ambitions of his career are reflected in his artwork and writing. They also contain traces of larger sentiments felt by the country during the first half of the 20th century.

Charles E. Burchfield: In His Own Words

map

Charles E. Burchfield: In His Own Words

Claim this listing

Report as closed

Submit New Event

Registration

Forgotten Password?

X
You must be logged in to use this feature.