The Language Within Us

Description

Save
To save to your favorites you must login first.

The Language Within Us is a collaborative project by painter Muhammad Zaman and photographer Michael Mandolfo. The exhibition explores the intricacies of human communication and identity through the medium of language. Zaman’s painted fabric, featuring intricate calligraphic symbols, serves as the focal point of the exhibition, with photographs, audio recordings, and video projection of participants expressing language through Mandolfo’s multimedia approach. The result is a multisensory experience that is both dynamic and profound.

At the heart of this multimedia installation is a complex interplay between multi-track audio that expresses language, video projections of abstract body movement onto the hanging fabric, and a spatial environment that merges the body’s movement with letters, symbols, and calligraphy. The resulting bond of these elements can feel lyrical and discordant.

“The Language Within Us” is an invitation to join in a collective journey that explores the mysteries of human communication and identity through language. As you step into the central space created by the hanging fabrics, the ethereal light filters through the translucent fabric painting, casting an otherworldly glow that draws you in. Outside of the enclosure, the viewers witness the beauty of the interplay between the fabric, video movement, and light.

The Language Within Us encourages the viewer to embark on a journey to explore the very essence of what makes us human. Through this exhibition, we invite you to be present and experience the magic of language as a powerful and unifying force that brings us all together.

Details

Fri, Apr 14 • All Day

Burchfield Penney Art Center • 1300 Elmwood Ave., Buffalo 14222

Buffalo

Events Dates

Fri, Apr 14 All Day

Sat, April 15 • All Day

Sun, April 16 • All Day

Mon, April 17 • All Day

Tue, April 18 • All Day

Wed, April 19 • All Day

See More Dates

Thu, April 20 • All Day

Fri, April 21 • All Day

Sat, April 22 • All Day

Sun, April 23 • All Day

Mon, April 24 • All Day

Tue, April 25 • All Day

Wed, April 26 • All Day

Thu, April 27 • All Day

Fri, April 28 • All Day

Sat, April 29 • All Day

Sun, April 30 • All Day

Mon, May 1 • All Day

Tue, May 2 • All Day

Wed, May 3 • All Day

Thu, May 4 • All Day

Fri, May 5 • All Day

Sat, May 6 • All Day

Sun, May 7 • All Day

Mon, May 8 • All Day

Tue, May 9 • All Day

Wed, May 10 • All Day

Thu, May 11 • All Day

Fri, May 12 • All Day

Sat, May 13 • All Day

Sun, May 14 • All Day

Mon, May 15 • All Day

Tue, May 16 • All Day

Wed, May 17 • All Day

Thu, May 18 • All Day

Fri, May 19 • All Day

Sat, May 20 • All Day

Sun, May 21 • All Day

Mon, May 22 • All Day

Tue, May 23 • All Day

Wed, May 24 • All Day

Thu, May 25 • All Day

Fri, May 26 • All Day

Sat, May 27 • All Day

Sun, May 28 • All Day

Mon, May 29 • All Day

Tue, May 30 • All Day

Wed, May 31 • All Day

Thu, June 1 • All Day

Fri, June 2 • All Day

Sat, June 3 • All Day

Sun, June 4 • All Day

Mon, June 5 • All Day

Tue, June 6 • All Day

Wed, June 7 • All Day

Thu, June 8 • All Day

Fri, June 9 • All Day

Sat, June 10 • All Day

Sun, June 11 • All Day

Mon, June 12 • All Day

Tue, June 13 • All Day

Wed, June 14 • All Day

Thu, June 15 • All Day

Fri, June 16 • All Day

Sat, June 17 • All Day

Sun, June 18 • All Day

Mon, June 19 • All Day

Tue, June 20 • All Day

Wed, June 21 • All Day

Thu, June 22 • All Day

Fri, June 23 • All Day

Sat, June 24 • All Day

Sun, June 25 • All Day

Mon, June 26 • All Day

Tue, June 27 • All Day

Wed, June 28 • All Day

Thu, June 29 • All Day

Fri, June 30 • All Day

Sat, July 1 • All Day

Sun, July 2 • All Day

Mon, July 3 • All Day

Tue, July 4 • All Day

Wed, July 5 • All Day

Thu, July 6 • All Day

Fri, July 7 • All Day

Sat, July 8 • All Day

Sun, July 9 • All Day

Mon, July 10 • All Day

Tue, July 11 • All Day

Wed, July 12 • All Day

Thu, July 13 • All Day

Fri, July 14 • All Day

Sat, July 15 • All Day

Sun, July 16 • All Day

Mon, July 17 • All Day

Tue, July 18 • All Day

Wed, July 19 • All Day

Thu, July 20 • All Day

Fri, July 21 • All Day

Sat, July 22 • All Day

Sun, July 23 • All Day

Mon, July 24 • All Day

Tue, July 25 • All Day

Wed, July 26 • All Day

Thu, July 27 • All Day

Fri, July 28 • All Day

Sat, July 29 • All Day

Sun, July 30 • All Day

Hide Dates

Venue Info

Website

Description

Save
To save to your favorites you must login first.
The Language Within Us is a collaborative project by painter Muhammad Zaman and photographer Michael Mandolfo. The exhibition explores the intricacies of human communication and identity through the medium of language. Zaman's painted fabric, featuring intricate calligraphic symbols, serves as the focal point of the exhibition, with photographs, audio recordings, and video projection of participants expressing language through Mandolfo’s multimedia approach. The result is a multisensory experience that is both dynamic and profound. At the heart of this multimedia installation is a complex interplay between multi-track audio that expresses language, video projections of abstract body movement onto the hanging fabric, and a spatial environment that merges the body's movement with letters, symbols, and calligraphy. The resulting bond of these elements can feel lyrical and discordant. "The Language Within Us" is an invitation to join in a collective journey that explores the mysteries of human communication and identity through language. As you step into the central space created by the hanging fabrics, the ethereal light filters through the translucent fabric painting, casting an otherworldly glow that draws you in. Outside of the enclosure, the viewers witness the beauty of the interplay between the fabric, video movement, and light. The Language Within Us encourages the viewer to embark on a journey to explore the very essence of what makes us human. Through this exhibition, we invite you to be present and experience the magic of language as a powerful and unifying force that brings us all together.

The Language Within Us

map

The Language Within Us

Claim this listing

Report as closed

Submit New Event

Registration

Forgotten Password?

X
To save to your favorites you must login first.
Login Here
X
You must be logged in to use this feature.